My first ever blog

Interesting storys, rants, info clips and links to all things related to old computers, retro gaming, mods and computers. You can leave comments only in this forum.

My first ever blog

Postby crustyasp46 » Fri Nov 26, 2010 7:59 pm

Being asked to write a blog on retro gaming and computing, was easy to say yes to, but actually doing so caused my mind to go blank.

Heck, I am no expert in either area, I have not even learned how to text on my cell phone.

I am, however, avid about saving and preserving the retro scene, in both computing and gaming. I consider myself a novice collector, and do so at yard sales, give away sites on the net, and from those willing to donate their old games, systems and computers. ( I call them care packages). I seldom make a purchase as I am not sure of values, not to say I don"t window shop and sigh, and mark them in my mental wish list.

I also spend a lot of time searching the web for information on items that I receive. Because, quite honestly, I don't know what a lot of the items are or their purpose is until I search the web.

In my search for information, I occasionally find something I think would be of interest to others here at The Old Computer, and submit it.

From doing so, and much to my surprise, I have been asked to do some blogs on some of the articles I have submitted.

Hopefully I can do so in an interesting and sometimes entertaining way. To quote Hot Trout when he started his blog:

"I have for better or worse decided to start a blog for the website. During a normal day, I often scan the web for retro gaming and computing material and on my way stumble across many weird and cool stuff. I guess this is the best place to spill my brain farts to. I don't expect you to enjoy it but I do expect you to comment.

Let the junk begin and the madness set in."

Having read that, I wish that Hot Trout would have had more time to blog, as I am sure that I at least have missed much.